

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate Supports Black Lives Matter

The Executive Committee of the Academic Senate at California State University Channel Islands commits, on behalf of our faculty, to exercise the full extent of our authority to realize the truth that Black Lives Matter, and that it is evident in the daily experiences of Black/African American students, staff, faculty, and guests in our campus, in University Glen, and in our surrounding community.

CSUCI has frequently affirmed in multiple venues that we collectively value equity, fairness, and opportunity for all we serve. However, it is imperative to acknowledge the significant gap between our stated ideals and the lived experiences of Black/African American persons on our campus -- and to find ways to bridge that gap. In this commitment, we join with recent statements of campus stakeholders against structural racism and for actively anti-racist change. Upon return of the whole faculty in Fall 2020, the Senate Executive Committee will put a resolution before the entire Senate declaring that Black/African American lives matter. This resolution will include explicit plans for actively examining and changing institutional structures, processes, and practices that allow racism to persist.

These actions will be based on a statement of priorities by the Black Faculty and Staff Association. We commit to listening, and we commit to doing this work. The Academic Senate has the power to act for the faculty on all matters within the scope of the faculty (including but not limited to faculty hiring, RTP, and curriculum), and the Senate commits to take action. We will work to recognize and remedy systemic and institutional injustices in our campus community.

This is not the work for just the few. It is every person's responsibility to create and live up to the ideals we have set as a campus, especially the ideal of equity for all.

Signatures: Gregory G. Wood, Chair Jason Miller, Vice Chair Jeanne Grier, Secretary Virgil H. Adams III Marie Francois Dennis J. Downey Nancy Deans John Yudelson